Current Announcements

16 May 2018 | Announcing a New Editor of the Journal of Public Administration Research and Theory

PMRA President Rosemary O’Leary is pleased to announce that Mary Feeney of Arizona State University has been selected as the next editor of the Journal of Public Administration Research and Theory (JPART). Mary will formally take over on January 1, 2019, with a transition process that will begin several months prior.

The editor search committee was comprised of Craig Thomas, University of Washington (chair); Brad Wright, University of Georgia; Sonia Ospina, New York University; Kirk Emerson, University of Arizona; Joerg Raab, Tilburg University; and Ken Meier, ex-officio non-voting member, Texas A&M University.

Rosemary thanks the search committee for a rigorous and well run search, and current editor Bradley Wright for his outstanding service over the last 5 years.

JPART serves as a bridge between public administration and public management scholarship on the one hand and public policy studies on the other. Its multidisciplinary aim is to advance the organizational, administrative, and policy sciences as they apply to government and governance. The journal is committed to diverse and rigorous scholarship and serves as an outlet for the best conceptual and theory-based empirical work in the field.

JPART is the top-ranked journal in the category of Public Administration with a 5-year Impact Factor of 4.981 according to the 2016 Journal Citation Reports® (Clarivate Analytics, 2017).

The Journal of Public Administration Research and Theory is the official journal of the Public Management Research Association.

The 2018 Recipient of the H. George Frederickson Award is John Bryson

The Public Management Research Association is pleased to announce that the winner of the 2018 H. George Frederickson Award is Professor John Bryson of the University of Minnesota. The Frederickson Award honors a senior scholar for career contributions to the field of public management. Exemplary contributions include, but are not limited to, adding to the intellectual development of the field and building professional capital related to public management research.

Those who wrote in support of Professor Bryson offered high praise for a distinguished career that “focused on asking significant questions and providing significant answers.” In particular, there was unanimous agreement that Bryson “effectively engaged his scholarship with practice, both to inform theory and to test how theory might inform practice” and thus embodied one of “Frederickson’s core scholarly commitments—to engage and inform public affairs practitioners.” Professor Bryson is “best known for his work on strategic planning and management, leadership, and cross-sector collaboration.  He has also contributed significantly to knowledge development about public participation, stakeholder identification and analysis, and, most recently, integrative work on public value.”

In response, Professor Bryson had the following to say:

It was an unexpected and wonderful surprise to hear that I would receive the 2018 H. George Frederickson Award for career contributions to the field of public management. The award is a terrific honor for at least three reasons: First, it is named for one of the true giants of the field; being linked to George in this way is a huge honor. In addition, joining the list of previous recipients is deeply gratifying as well as incredibly humbling; their accomplishments are legion and field-defining. And finally, as is so often noted, to be honored by one’s peers is as rewarding as can be. Thank you so much to my nominators, the committee, and PMRA!

The Fredrickson Award committee was chaired by Tony Bertelli (NYU) and included Tina Nabatchi (Syracuse University), Ines Mergel (University of Konstanz), Branda Nowell (NC State University), and Karl Rethemeyer (University at Albany).

The 2018 Recipient of the Beryl Radin Award is Sounman Hong

The 2018 recipient of the Beryl Radin Award for best article in the Journal of Public Administration Research and Theory is Dr. Sounman Hong for “Black in Blue: Racial Profiling and Representative Bureaucracy in Policing Revisited.”

In selecting Hong’s work from among all of the articles published by JPART in 2017, the committee explained that his piece

provides an important contribution to the public administration literature. Specifically, it stands out because it addresses both a theoretically and practically significant question about the implications of a representative bureaucracy for modern society. He grounds his argument in a thorough literature review before setting forth several hypotheses on active and passive representation in the context of public administration. Hong assesses the hypotheses using outcome data from policing drawn from English and Welsh police forces, including data assessing the use of stop-and-frisk by officers. He finds that an increase in the proportion of ethnic minorities on a police force is related to a decrease in minorities being stopped and searched. Overall, Hong’s findings hold important implications for our understanding of modern police tactics, while also addressing a noteworthy theoretical debate in the scholarly literature.

Commenting upon his receipt of the Radin Award, Dr. Hong said: “I am extremely honored to receive such an important award. I am deeply grateful for the recognition especially because I know there are many JPART articles published last year that are much more interesting and rigorous than mine. . . . I sincerely thank each of the committee members.”

The Radin Award Committee would also like to acknowledge a pair of honorable mentions: “Uncharted Territoriality in Coproduction: The Motivations for 311 Reporting,” by Daniel Tumminelli O’Brien, Dietmar Offenhuber, Jessica Baldwin-Philippi, Melissa Sands, and Eric Gordon; and “Experts, Amateurs, and Bureaucratic Influence in the American States,” by Graeme T. Boushey and Robert J. McGrath.

The Radin Award committee was chaired by Susan Webb Yackee (University of Wisconsin-Madison) and included Christine Palus (Villanova University), Patrick Kenis (Tilburg University), Erica Foldy (NYU), and Gregory B. Lewis (Georgia State University).

The 2018 Recipient of the Best Dissertation Award is Huafang Li

The 2018 PMRA Dissertation Committee has selected Information and Donations: A Study of Nonprofit Online Communication, by Dr. Huafang Li as the inaugural winner of the PMRA Best Dissertation Award. The award comes with a $2,000 prize.

The committee had this to say about Dr. Li’s dissertation:

Dr. Li built an original database using social media communications (i.e., tweets) from nonprofit organizations, and then analyzed this database to explore how nonprofit organizations communicate performance and accountability information to various stakeholders. He then conducted a conjoint experiment to manipulate the types of information conveyed to donors to determine their effects on donations. We found Dr. Li’s research to be theoretically novel, practically important, and methodologically rigorous.

In response to this recognition, Dr. Li said:

I want to express my sincere appreciation and thanks to the Public Management Research Association for recognizing me with the Best Dissertation Award. I am truly humbled and honored to receive it. I would especially like to thank my advisor Dr. Gregg Van Ryzin, and my dissertation committee members Dr. Norma Riccucci, Dr. Lindsey McDougle, and Dr. Chao Guo. . . . I am deeply grateful for this honor. Thank you very much.

The Dissertation Award committee was chaired by Leisha Dehart-Davis (University of North Carolina) and included Angel Saz Carranza (Esade University) and Michael McGuire (Indiana University).