The H. George Frederickson Award

The Public Management Research Association is pleased to announce that the winner of the 2021 H. George Frederickson Award is Frances Stroke Berry, Reubin O’D. Askew Eminent Scholar, Frank Sherwood Professor of Public Administration, at the Reubin O’D. Askew School of Public Administration and Policy, Florida State University.

Frances’ nomination stood out to the committee for several reasons. Her scholarly contributions to public administration and management are broad and deep. She is best known for her research on policy implementation, state policy-making, policy diffusion and innovation, program evaluation, and strategic and performance management.

Her research in policy innovation and diffusion has been a source of inspiration for many other prominent scholars who have built upon, replicated, and extended her work.

Frances’s professional contributions to the development of the field are substantial. She has been an exemplary citizen for our field, including serving in leadership roles for PMRA, where she served as President (2013-2015), President of the National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration (NASPAA) in 2011. She has also been President of the American Society for Public Administration (ASPA)’s section on Public Administration Research (SPAR), ASPA’s Section on Intergovernmental Administration and Management (SIAM), the North Florida Chapter of ASPA, and the Southeast Evaluation Association (SEA). She has served as chair or on the executive boards of numerous public administration and public policy professional sections.

She has supported the development of junior scholars in their service to the profession as well. We are delighted to honor Frances’s contributions with the prestigious Frederickson Award.

The committee discussed the outstanding contributions of all the nominees for the Frederickson award this year. In particular, the Committee would like to recognize the contribution of one of the nominees who recently passed away, Jeff Brudney.


The 2021 H. George Frederickson Award Committee

Greta Nasi (Bocconi), Chair, Susan Webb Yackee (UW-Madison), Jae Moon (Yonsei) and Rob Christensen (BYU)



PMRC 2021 will be held virtually and will not include an awards ceremony. The 2021 Awards will be formally presented at PMRC 2022 when we can, hopefully, convene in person.


The H. George Frederickson Award honors a senior scholar for career contributions to the field of public management.  Exemplary contributions include, but are not limited to, adding to the intellectual development of the field and building professional capital (e.g., journal development and other means of sharing PM scholarship and information) related to public management research.

Past Recipients:

2020 – Norma M. Riccucci

2019 – H. Brinton Milward

2018 – John Bryson

2017 – Rosemary O’Leary

2016 – Hal Rainey

2015 – James L. Perry

2013 – Barry Bozeman

2011 – Kenneth J. Meier

2009 – Beryl Radin

2007 – Christopher Hood

2005 – Laurence Lynn, Jr.